Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland CM


Union Minister Jagat Prakash Nadda, along with BJP general secretary Arun Singh and State BJP president Visasolie Lhoungu, met the Governor earlier on Tuesday and submitted a Letter of Support to Mr Rio with the signatures of all 12 BJP MLAs.

Newly sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio on Thursday assured to bring settlement in the Naga political issue as soon as possible.

In a star-studded ceremony, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was today sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister for the fourth time.

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitaraman and Junior Home Minister Kiren Rijiju were among those who attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Ten other Ministers were also administered the oath of office and secrecy.

"We have chosen to conduct this programme at this historic venue in honour of the people we are going to serve", Rio said addressing a public meeting after the oath-taking ceremony.

On the event, the ace leaders from the party will be present along with the Chief Ministers of the BJP ruled states.

The chief ministers of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Meghalaya also attended Rio's swearing-in.

The NPF won 27 seats in the 60-member Nagaland Assembly.

After gaining victory in the recently held Assembly Elections in the state, the NDPP in alliance with the BJP took over the reins of the north-eastern state with the support of 32 MLAs.

Rio is heading the Peoples Democratic Alliance government in partnership with the BJP in the state. The independent candidate Tongpang Ozukum and JD (U)'s G Kaito Aye were also inducted into the new cabinet. In January 2018, Nagaland's lone Lok Sabha member broke away from the ruling NPF after the party chose to sever ties with the BJP.

The announcement was made by the BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma who stated that party has already formed a pre-poll alliance with NDPP and now they are going to form a government in the state with its ally party.