BJP's Y Patton likely to get deputy CM post in Nagaland


"We are in a comfortable position to form the government and the NDPP-BJP alliance will stake claim to form the government soon", BJP general secretary Ram Madhav said.

Paving the way for the formation of a new government, Nagaland Governor, P.B. Acharya, Tuesday dissolved the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) and invited Neiphiu Rio to form the government in Nagaland.

"With the support of an Independent and the JD (U) member, we have crossed the halfway mark (in the 60-member House)".

BJP won 12 seats while NDPP secured 18 seats in the just-concluded elections.

Meanwhile, two newly elected NPP MLAs have joined the NDPP-BJP alliance.

Chuba Ozukum, president of the Naga Hoho, the apex tribal body, said a strong opposition could mean a stable government, which, he added, was necessary for the peace process.

The NFP has been in power in the state since 2003 except for a three-month-long break during the President's Rule in 2008.

Sources in the NDPP said this had already triggered dissent in the party. The Governor stated that he has received letters of support in favour of Rio from MLAs of BJP, JD (U) and an Independent besides NDPP legislators.

In the final result of the Nagaland Assembly elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 11 seats, while Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) 16, National Development Front (NDF) 27 and others four seats.

"After coming to know of the decision of BJP severing ties with NPF, I am submitting the resignation of the council of ministers headed by me today with a request to accept the same with immediate effect", TR Zeliang said in his resignation letter.

NPF president Sh├╝rhozelie Liezietsu too has written to Shah informing him of the party's eagerness to continue its alliance with the BJP.

Though the letter doesn't mention it, top sources in both the NPF and the NPP told The Wire from Kohima that both the parties "would likely pull out of the BJP-led coalition in Manipur if it goes with NDPP".

The earlier result on Saturday, declaring NPF candidate Namduadi Rangkau Zeliang as the victor by a margin of 32 votes, was overturned after the poll officer detected an anomaly in the figures.