Facebook introduces Snooze, allowing users to mute friends


Facebook is also making changes to address the quality of your news feed. While you'll certainly be able to use Snooze to avoid Star Wars spoilers on Facebook, this has a few other applications beyond that as well.

Facebook can get a little overwhelming at times, especially in today's era of fake news and hot-topic political takes.

Facebook is adding in a snooze button to discreetly shut up those annoying "friends" on Facebook for a while.

If you're exhausted of putting up with a particular person, group or page for a while, just click the menu in the upper right-hand corner of their latest post and click "Snooze" and you won't see anything from them for 30 days. They can also choose to turn Snooze off at any time. With it, you can easily mute one or some of your friends' posts who keep on publishing irritating cat videos.

When a user comes across a post on Facebook either from a group, or a person, that they don't want to see posts from anymore, it's easy to Snooze that person or group.

Facebook said the new Snooze button is one way it is trying to make social media more positive by allowing users to hide the type of posts that they only passively consume, such as a distant friend's vacation pictures.

The idea is for people to have more control over their news feeds - in case they are having tensions with a friend or partner, or if people want to avoid certain topics.

"The short-term, dopamine-driven feedback loops that we have created are destroying how society works".

In some studies, researchers indicated that social media might cause an increased feeling of loneliness and depression.