Instagram Introduces Private Archive To Automatically Save 24 Hour Stories

Share

There, you'll be able to easily switch between your posts archive and stories archive.

The next feature added by Facebook owned Instagram is 'Story Highlights'. Similarly, if you add more than 100 clips to your current Story, the first one will be removed and added to your Archive.

Ahead, we walk through exactly how to use each of these two brilliant new functions - so you won't ever again have to wish you saved your Stories from the night before. Your highlight will appear as a circle on your profile that can be played as a stand-alone story.

Today, Instagram will automatically archive your expired stories to the updated "archive feature" in the apps latest update.

To create a highlight, users will have to tap the "New" circle. The features tend to change the popular stories and make it more interesting. Insta users can now post a story and not worry about having to download it if they want to view it after the 24-hour mark. Users can tap on any story in your archive to watch it.

Video obtained by The Next Web also reveals that Instagram may be testing a GIF feature that lets users search for and place GIFs in their stories and posts, sourcing the GIF's via Giphy. "To access the stories in your archive, tap the Archive icon on your profile".

The update shows how serious Instagram is about Stories. Under the stories archives section, all your stories will appear in a grid, with the recent stories appearing at the bottom.

Instagram announced that it has unveiled two new tools for both its iOS and Android apps.

Highlights can be edited or removed at any time; to do this, tap and hold the highlight you with to edit.

Instagram says they are committed to elevating the role of user profiles on the service, to match how people are sharing on Instagram today. Stories are small video clips that stick around for 24 hours and then disappear to the aether. This is a big step for Instagram, and especially useful for brands/influencers/celebrities who want to share their content for more than a limited time. They'll remain visible unless you delete them, and you can remove clips but not reorder them.

Share