UP civic polls: Congress faces drubbing in Amethi


As per the reports, Congress could not be managed to get a single seat in two Nagar Panchayat and two municipal corporation elections. The Congress was left red-faced after the BJP registered a sweep in Amethi, a bastion of the Gandhi family. The BSP won Aligarh and Meerut while the saffron party won the rest.

"Development has triumphed once again in the country". Adityanath who undertook a whirl-wind tour of the state to ensure the victory of his party's candidates, described the outcome as a "historic win".

Uttar Pradesh is now under the chief minister-ship of Yogi Adityanath had formed 2 municipal corporations of Vrindavan-Mathura and Ayodhya from March 2017, just after he came to power in the state. "This win motivates us to work even harder for people's betterment", he wrote.

On seeing the performance of the state government it is clear that the Bharatiya Janata Party will be closely examined because of the civic poll results, while Adityanath campaigned for his government.

BJP's Ramtirth Singhal won the Jhansi seat defeating Brijendra Kumar Vyas of BSP by a margin of 16,373 votes.

Deputy chief minister Dinesh Sharma said the people of the state had shown full faith in the BJP while discarding the SP, the BSP and the Congress.

Some other political parties, including, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Congress and Samajwadi Party (SP) were low profile. "(SP chief) Akhilesh Yadav and (Congress vice president) Rahul Gandhi, who were together during Assembly polls as "UP ke ladke", have become like the tyre and tube of a cycle and it is punctured", Sharma said. The Mayawati led party is likely to end up second.

BJP chief Amit Shah said that it was clear that the people had embraced the economic reforms and rejected politics of caste, appeasement and dynasty.

SP leader and MLC Rajpal Kashyap alleged it was "disheartening" that the BJP gained on places where EVMs were used.

These elections are being viewed as a litmus test for the SP, BSP and Congress as well. Elaborate security arrangements have been made at counting centers. For a party that failed to make any mark in the Lok Sabha elections, the results of the civic polls is more than just a consolation - it is a show of intent that it may be the only party now with an iota of stomach to keep a check on BJP's clout in the state. Officials said no procession would be allowed during the counting process and following the announcement of the results. Polling was held for 16 Nagar Nigams, 198 Nagar Palika Parishads and 438 Nagar Panchayats with an average turnout of all the three phases estimated at 52.5 per cent of the 3.32 crore voters.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath heavily campaigned for these elections all over UP.

When Yogi took over as CM there were apprehensions whether he would be able to provide good administration considering the fact that he did not have any administrative experience and Uttar Pradesh was not the ideal state to learn the threads of governance.

From Gauriganj, SP's Rajpati Devi won by defeating BSP nominee Tara Devi by 1,395 votes.