'Misbehaving' passengers may land in 'no-fly list'


The No-fly list will have two components- Unruly passengers banned by airlines and list provided by MHA for persons perceived to be national security risk.

A number of incidents involving members of Parliament such as Ravindra Gaikwad of the Shiv Sena and JC Diwakar Reddy of the TDP assaulting airline staff had resulted in clamour for an official "India no-fly list".

Level 1: Unruly behavior (verbal)- It could lead to a ban up to 3 months. The DGCA will maintain the National Football League and put it on its website with the name of unruly flyers barred from flying for different periods by different airlines. He said the promulgation of the No - Fly List in India is unique and first-of-its-kind in the world.

"Decision will be taken by an independent committee under a retired District Judge within a period of 30 days of alleged offence", civil aviation minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju said in a tweet. In such cases the ban will be for minimum two years. Gaikwad was barred from flying by all domestic airlines before the ban was revoked.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) issued new norms pertaining to the no-fly list, aiming to make air travel safer by getting hold of unruly passengers.

It's important to note what the MoS for civil aviation Jayant Sinha said, "We have tried to achieve a balance between aircraft security and interests of passengers, cabin crew and airlines at large".

While these rules deal with unruly behaviour on board an aircraft, similar behaviour at airport premises will be dealt with by security agencies concerned.

The new rules will be applicable to foreign carriers as well, the government said in a statement, adding that unruly behaviour has been categorised in three levels - verbal, physical and life threatening. The aviation ministry on Friday issued India's first ever " no fly list+ " which comes into effect with immediate effect. The punishment will be a ban up to 3 months.

- Level 2 will include physically abusive behavior (pushing, kicking, hitting, inappropriate touching). Representatives for the passengers can be someone from a flyers' associations, a consumer rights groups, or a retired officer of the Consumer Forum.

The rules are technically called the Civil Aviation Requirement.

The ban will be doubled in case of repeat offences. It will have to decide on appeals in a time-bound manner within 30 days.

The "no fly list", got delayed as the government was figuring out the process to link the databases of different airlines so that a person put on "no-fly list" by one airline is not able to fly on the other Indian carriers too. The "no-fly" offence rules will run concurrent to any criminal proceedings initiated as per the law.