Record-breaking USA astronaut and crew back on Earth


They successfully touched down on target in a remote area near the town of Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan.

Their Soyuz capsule landed in Kazakhstan shortly after sunrise Sunday, Saturday night back in the U.S. She set multiple other records while in orbit: world's oldest spacewoman, at age 57, and most experienced female spacewalker, with 10.

Whitson's return will mark the end of her third long-duration stay onboard the space station. Whitson's 665 days off the planet, 288 days on this mission alone exceeds that of any other American and any other woman worldwide.

While Yurchikhin will go to Russia's cosmonaut center in Moscow, Whitson and Fischer will head to NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston.

Because of the effects of Hurricane Harvey, NASA could not get its plane from Houston to Kazakhstan in time for the crew's landing.

Record-breaking NASA astronaut Peggy Whitson and her Expedition 52 crewmates, Flight Engineer Jack Fischer of NASA and Commander Fyodor Yurchikhin of the Russian space agency Roscosmos, are scheduled to depart the International Space Station and return to Earth Saturday, Sept. 2.

According to NASA's latest report, the entire group of scientists have conducted several number of experiments in biology, biotechnology, physical science and Earth science aboard humanity's only orbiting laboratory. "For example, in order to keep mission control running, the team (three shifts of a skeleton support crew) were sleeping on cots in the backup mission control rooms".

"A command for a retrograde burn has been issued", the source said.

With the departure of the Soyuz MS-04 crew, "we lose 1,474 days worth of spaceflight experience", Bresnik said. "So that first 45 days is actually going to be very busy".

Because of the catastrophic flooding caused by Hurricane Harvey, the NASA Gulfstream jet that normally would have met Fischer and Whitson in Karaganda was delayed. Three men remain at the space station: Bresnik, a Russian and an Italian.

Roscosmos' Sergey Ryazanskiy, NASA's Randy Bresnik and European Space Agency's (ESA) Paolo Nespoli will remain at the ISS until the Expedition 53/54 comes.