YouTube TV Expands to 10 More Markets; Now Available in 15 Areas


Google promised last month to bring its YouTube TV service to 10 more markets in the coming weeks.

YouTube TV is now airing local programming from ABC, NBC, CBS, and FOX in all of those markets, with the exception of Dallas, where ABC coverage is restricted to prime programming, minus the local news. Other favorites include popular cable networks ESPN, AMC, FX, E!, Telemundo, the CW, Bravo, the Disney Channel FOX News, and MSNBC.

Missing are the Turner channels, including CNN, Cartoon Network and TNT, the Viacom networks, including Comedy Central, MTV, VH1, and Nickelodeon, Scripps (Food Network and Home and Garden) and HBO.

You can sign-up for YouTube TV here.

YouTube TV now offers a one month free trial, as well as a free Chromecast after your first payment.

Those new cities join the original group of markets - Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, Philadelphia, and the San Francisco Bay Area. The service competes with Dish's Sling TV, AT&T's DirecTV Now, Hulu's live TV service, and Sony's PlayStation Vue, among others. There is a YouTube TV app for iOS, with AirPlay streaming to watch on Apple TV, as well as a web interface for desktop.

It includes a cloud DVR, with no storage limits, so you can stream recordings on any device at any time. Each recording will be stored for nine months. The service, which allows access to six accounts per household, is especially targeted toward millennials and other budget-conscious customers.